North east Gemstones

Tasmanian Gemstone and mineral specimen Prospecting

Moderator: Philski

Jimbo5885

North east Gemstones

Post by Jimbo5885 » Wed Aug 05, 2015 8:30 pm

First of hi to everyone, I'm new to prospecting and new to this site ( thanks to Phil for getting me sorted!). I've only been into prospecting for a few months but I have the bug pretty bad!! It didn't take me long to realise the depth of what I have got myself into, there is sooo much to learn!! The people who I have spoken to and hassled via email have been unbelievably helpful (miguel,the apple Isle prospector, Phil to name a few). I've been on the mrt website trying to see where the claims or leases are for gems (cat5) in the n.e are and who owns them, but also wondering do lease holders usually let fossickers on thier claim and if so what kind of arrangements are usually made, for example, sharing finds? any help / info greatly appreciated
Jim

Philski

Re: North east Gemstones

Post by Philski » Thu Aug 06, 2015 3:19 am

Hi Jim

Great you enjoy it so much. Its a fantastic hobby. The vast majority of lease holders ive encountered are equally encouraging and will allow you on there tenements for free. The standard is 12.5%. I offer to help report anything significant i may find in return for their assistance. Its important to keep an eye on tenement maps at MRT, they are up to date, However many companies are now either insolvent or have no intention of doing any more work on the ground. A part of the ACT http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/tas/ ... /s112.html is that it be in writing and the tenement holder must either approve it, or not in writing. If they fail to do so.. then things change dramatically.

who owns what? check mineral resources Tasmania's map for tenements in the category your interested in. Then define the areas taken and search say (example) EL22/2007 to find out who the current and past tenement holders are.

mfdes

Post by mfdes » Thu Aug 06, 2015 10:24 am

Hi Jim,