Beaconsfield relics???

Coin and Treasure hunting in Tasmania

Moderator: Philski

Dave79

Beaconsfield relics???

Post by Dave79 » Sun May 06, 2018 4:59 pm

Hi, I'm new to the Beaconsfield area and the birthday fairy bought me a nice Minelab Equinox this year so I'm keen to get out and about treasure hunting before it gets too cold and wet... and even after it gets cold and wet! If anyone else in the central northern area is up for some hunting with company let me know. Also like to do a bit of panning, mineral collecting and checking out old mines.
Prospecting must be like fishing, the big one always gets away!

Dave79

Re: Beaconsfield relics???

Post by Dave79 » Tue May 22, 2018 10:00 am

IMG_20180522_084213.jpg
Well, the equinox seems to be the metal detector for dummies. Found these over the last few weekends without changing anything from the factory preset modes. Have had a bit of a go for gold around Lefroy but I think the gold mode might take a bit of time to master.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

drystone

Post by drystone » Wed May 30, 2018 6:29 pm

That's a good haul for a day out, well done

Dave79

Post by Dave79 » Wed May 30, 2018 9:08 pm

That was a couple of days worth and there's been a couple of 22c days in between!

warrenaw

Post by warrenaw » Fri Jun 01, 2018 8:24 am

A very nice haul. Well done.
What are the top 3 coins? Is there enough to identify them?

Dave79

Post by Dave79 » Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:56 pm

Ones another 53 shilling and I can just make out 1890 on the penny. That and the half penny have been in the salty river too long and are pretty had it. Got a few old buttons the other day. One has got 'rich treble gilt' on the back and from what I can find out it's an early 1800's English made button. The one in the middle has got something like _ _ _HITTIPS DESIGN and 692 on it and I've got no idea what it is.
IMG_20180530_144426.jpg