Black sands

Alluvial / Terrace / Deep Lead Prospecting

Moderator: Philski

ratters

Black sands

Post by ratters » Thu Apr 24, 2014 10:36 am

Hi All,

Im interested in peoples opinions on this. One particular spot I have been doing a bit of sluicing the amount of black sands is off the charts, really chockers. After only a fairly short time running gravel through it you can see the riffles full of black sand and almost no blondes on top any more. Just concerned that maybe the gold isnt getting trapped because of this, if the black sand gets a bit compact in there and isnt fluid enough. Or am I worrying about nothing? I am catching gold regardless but Im not an expert on sluice efficiency and design and it is does appear to be something that matters, if all the different types of sluice designs are anything to go by.
Do any of you stop for regular clean ups or just run it till your finished?

Cheers,

ratters

Philski

Re: Black sands

Post by Philski » Thu Apr 24, 2014 12:57 pm

HI ratter. it would pay to keep them all. They may contain something valuable. Iridum and osmium are still pretty high priced and we have an occurrence of rhodium that's worth a stacks of money at spot alone. even if its just tin you could smelt your own pewter with it.

Ive hit a few places like yours. East and West Coast , Behind Scamander and fossey / que river area. The pan feels heavy before you start and get an inch or more of cons in the pan. The only way i can think of for cleaning the riffles is to increase the gap between riffles, increase flow rate or steepen the angle. Or sieve it all first will help.

I did see one flat board sluice that had rare earth magnets glued under it and the black sands built up and became the riffles. Another had a large magnet strip at the head and was cleaned off periodically. but, in all cases i would keep the black sands or some of it and have it looked at to see if its worth keeping. Some of the things the old miners threw out are valuable today.